You understand and appreciate all too well,
How it felt trying to nurse Mummy to health,
The hope and joy of seeing her get better,
And all that suddenly dashed when she passed,

Maybe that’s why you decided to make yours a short trip,
It was meant to be a simple check up,
You were supposed to come back,
Why you decided not to still beats my mind,

We had plans,
Uncompleted projects,
Unfinished discussions,
We made plans,

Memories of you fill me with smiles and mirth,
For there was never a dull moment with you,
It is your absence that makes me break down with tears,
I miss your teasing tone and your laughter,
The reassuring comfort your voice always carried,

Your legacy lives on,
You taught me hard and you taught me well,
You always gave me a fighting chance,
And you always said how proud you are,

I miss you daddy,
I miss you sorely,
My dearest,
Its been days of silence…

Naa Ofoliwah,

15/03/21